Friday, November 09, 2007


Senators condoning torture

by Larry Geller
Conveniently enumerated for us by Brad Blog are the Democratic senators who joined with Republicans and Lieberman in confirming Michael Mukasey, and so rubberstamped Bush's torture policies: 
  • Charles Schumer (N.Y.)
  • Dianne Feinstein (CA)
  • Ben Nelson (NE)
  • Evan Bayh (IN)
  • Mary Landrieu (LA)
  • Tom Carper (DE)

Profiles in courage among senators who are running for president --- including a senator who was a prisoner of war --- were also absent last night:

All four Democratic presidential candidates - Sens. Hillary Clinton (NY), Barack Obama (IL), Joe Biden (DE) and Christopher Dodd (CN) - missed the vote, as did Sen. John McCain (R-AZ), who is seeking the GOP presidential nomination in 2008.

Sens. John Cornyn (R-TX) and Lamar Alexander (R-TN) also did not vote.

See the full article for more on torture, waterboarding, and Keith Olbermann's "Special Comment" on Monday.

Technorati Tags: , , ,


Post a Comment

Requiring those Captcha codes at least temporarily, in the hopes that it quells the flood of comment spam I've been receiving.

<< Home


page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Newer›  ‹Older